Reading in the Desert

…a bookworm in Dubai

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

Leave a comment



  • Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Brief Loves that Live Forever by Andrei Makine
  • Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
  • Harvest by Jim Crace
  • Horses of God by Mahi Binebine
  • K by Bernardo Kucinski
  • Someone by Alice McDermott
  • Sparta by Roxana Robinson
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan
  • TransAtlantic by Colum McCann


Winner: The Sound of Things Falling by Juan Gabriel Vasquez


  • The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng 4 stars
  • The Detour by Gerbrand Bakker
  • Questions of Travel by Michelle De Kretser
  • Absolution by Patrick Flanery
  • A Death in the Family by Karl Ove Knausgard
  • Three Strong Women by Marie Ndiaye
  • Traveller of the Century by Andres Neuman
  • The Light of Amsterdam by David Park
  • The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan


Winner: City of Bohane by Kevin Barry


  • Pure by Andrew Miller 4 stars
  • The Map & the Territory by Michel Houellebecq
  • 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
  • The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka
  • The Tragedy of Arthur by Arthur Phillips
  • Swamplandia! by Karen Russell
  • From the Mouth of the Whale by Sjon
  • The Faster I Walk, the Smaller I Am by Kjersti A Skomsvold
  • Caesarion by Tommy Wieringa


Winner: Even the Dogs by Jon McGregor 4 stars


  • Rocks in the Belly by Jon Bauer
  • The Matter with Morris by David Bergen
  • A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan 5 stars
  • The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna
  • Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
  • Landed by Tim Pears
  • Limassol by Yishai Sarid
  • The Eternal Son by Cristovao Tezza
  • Lean on Pete by Willy Vlautin


Winner: Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann


  • Galore by Michael Crummey
  • The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver
  • The Vagrants by Yiyun Li
  • Ransom by David Malouf
  • Little Bird of Heaven by Joyce Carol Oates
  • Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey
  • Brooklyn by Colm Toibin
  • Love & Summer by William Trevor
  • After the Fire, a Still Small Voice by Evie Wyld


Winner: The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker


  • Netherland by Joseph O’Neill 3 stars
  • The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery
  • In Zodiac Light by Robert Edric
  • Settlement by Christoph Hein
  • The Believers by Zoe Heller
  • God’s Own Country by Ross Raisin
  • Home by Marilynne Robinson


Winner: Man Gone Down by Michael Thomas


  • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz
  • Ravel by Jean Echenoz
  • The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid
  • The Archivist’s Story by Travis Holland
  • The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles by Roy Jacobsen
  • The Indian Clerk by David Leavitt
  • Animal’s People by Indra Sinha


Winner: De Niro’s Game by Rawi Hage


  • The Speed of Light by Javier Cercas
  • The Sweet & Simple Kind by Yasmine Gooneratne
  • Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones
  • Let it be Morning by Sayed Kashua
  • The Attack by Yasmina Khadra
  • Winterwood by Patrick McCabe
  • The Woman who Waited by Andei Makine


Winner: Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson



Winner: The Master by Colm Toibin


  • Grace Land by Chris Abani
  • Maps for Lost Lovers by Nadeem Aslam
  • Havoc in its Third Year by Ronan Bennett
  • The Closed Circle by Jonathan Coe
  • An Altered Light by Jens Christian Grondahl
  • The Swallows of Kabul by Yasmina Khadra
  • Breaking the Tongue by Vyvyane Loh
  • Don’t Move by Margaret Mazzantini
  • The Logogryph by Thomas Wharton


Winner: The Known World by Edward P Jones


  • Gardening at Night by Diane Awerbuck
  • The Half Brother by Lars Saabye Christensen
  • The Good Doctor by Damon Galgut
  • Elle by Douglas Glover
  • Phantom Pain by Arnon Grunberg
  • The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard
  • Willenbrock by Christoph Hein
  • Deafening by Frances Itani
  • The Fortress of Solitude by Jonathan Lethem


Winner: This Blinding Absence of Light by Tahar Ben Jelloun


  • The Book of Illusions by Paul Auster
  • Any Human Heart by William Boyd
  • Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros
  • Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
  • The White Family by Maggie Gee
  • Balthasar’s Odyssey by Amin Maalouf
  • Family Matters by Rohinton Mistry
  • Earth & Ashes by Atiq Rahimi
  • House of Day, House of Night by Olga Tokarczuk


Winner: My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk


  • Bel Canto by Ann Patchett 5 stars
  • The Ash Garden by Dennis Bock
  • Bitter Fruit by Achmat Dangor
  • The Royal Physician’s Visit by Per Olov Enquist
  • The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
  • The Painter of Birds by Lidia Jorge
  • That They May Face the Rising Sun by John McGahern


Winner: Atomised by Michel Houellebecq


  • The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
  • True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey
  • The Keepers of Truth by Michael Collins
  • The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt
  • The Years with Laura Diaz by Carlos Fuentes
  • Madame by Antoni Libera


Winner: No Great Mischief by Alistair MacLeod


  • The True History of Paradise by Margaret Cezair-Thompson
  • The Love You Promised My by Silvia Molina
  • Our Fathers by Andrew O’Hagan
  • The Clay Machine-Gun by Victor Pelevin
  • The Blackwater Lightship by Colm Toibin


Winner: Wide Open by Nicola Barker


  • The Hours by Michael Cunningham
  • Trumpet by Jackie Kay
  • This Side of Brightness by Colum McCann
  • Charming Billy by Alice McDermott
  • Paradise by Toni Morrison
  • I Married a Communist by Philip Roth


Winner: Ingenious Pain by Andrew Miller


  • Quarantine by Jim Crace
  • Underworld by Dom DeLillo
  • The Ordinary Seaman by Francisco Goldman
  • Enduring Love by Ian McEwan
  • The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
  • The Puttermesser Papers by Cynthia Ozick
  • The Reader by Bernard Schlink


Winner: The Land of Green Plums by Herta Muller


  • Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood
  • Imaginings of Sand by Andre Brink
  • The Counting House by David Dabydeen
  • The Glade within the Grove by David Foster
  • Autobiography of my Mother by Jamaica Kincaid
  • Salt by Earl Lovelace
  • The Pope’s Rhinoceros by Lawrence Norfolk
  • Last Orders by Graham Swift
  • The Englishman’s Boy by Guy Vanderhaeghe


Winner: A Heart so White by Javier Marias


  • Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie
  • A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry
  • Novel without a Name by Duong Thu Huong
  • Declares Pereira by Antonio Tabucchi
  • A Tiler’s Afternoon by Lars Gustaffson
  • The Good Negress by A J Verdelle
  • Morvern Callar by Alan Warner


Winner: Remembering Babylon by David Malouf


  • Ghosts by John Banville
  • A Way in the World by V S Naipaul
  • The Following Story by Cees Noteboom
  • The Laws by Connie Palmen
  • The Gospel According to Jesus Christ by Jose Saramago
  • Away by Jane Urquhart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s